David Knowles 'Footsteps' - Self Release

This is a debut release from an artist based in Edinburgh, Scotland. David Knowles sings with a husky delivery that is not too far removed from David Gray and his acoustic based relationship songs have a lingering appeal.

The Air You Breathe and Satisfy My Soul are two numbers that follow this theme before we are given a cover version of the Bill Withers classic, Ain’t No Sunshine. Another cover version is Hey Joe and I do not see the need to have either song on this 9 track release when Knowles is trying to establish his own identity. 

The production is very sparse and in keeping with Knowle’s road weary delivery and the arrangements are in a predominantly bluesy tempo. Interesting debut but could have been more compelling, with the cover versions kept for live performance and the addition of a few more original songs.